Welcome to another edition of SB Week in Review! The year is winding down, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of announcements and releases to keep us busy this December. Here’s all the news you might have missed:


  • South Korean parliament decided in a vote of 234 to 56 to impeach president Park Guen-hye. Following the vote, Park has been suspended from her Presidential duties. Ultimately though, her fate is in the hand of the South Korean Constitutional Court. In the meantime, Prime Minister Hwang Kyo-ahn will take over Park’s presidential duties and a celebratory vigil is planned for this Sunday.
  • SNL Korea is under fire for the second time this month for using Um Aing-ran‘s breast cancer as the basis for a joke.

Debuts & Comebacks

  • Monsta X surprised fans with the MV for “White Love” off their most recent album, The Clan Pt 2: Guilty.
  • Heize reflected in her latest MV for “Star.”
  • Pentagon mashed up a whole lot of aesthetic influences for “Can You Feel It.”
  • Thunder tried to figure out the right moves in “Sign” featuring Goo Hara.
  • Hoody is back with the pre-release MV for “By Your Side” featuring Jinbo.
  • Suran kept things solum for her latest single “Winter Bird.”
  • Seventeen came back with a “Boom Boom,” and a new mini Going Seventeen
  • The Korean collaborations continue as the Far East Movement staggers the MVs for their album, Identity. The latest release, “Don’t Speak,” features and stars SNSD‘s Tiffany.
  • As part of The Miracle OST, Sonamoo premiered the MV for “First Kiss.
  • SS301 are back with “Remove.”
  • EXO-CBX released the special OST track “Crush U.” The MV is due out some time this month.
  • Jonghyun released “Inspiration” through SM Station, but the MV is still MIA.

Teasers & Announcements

  • There’s a collaboration brewing between Eric Nam, Tablo, and Gallant.
  • SES reminded us of their uncanny agelessness in new teaser images.
  • Akdong Musician will kick off 2017 YG releases on January 3.
  • Teen Top‘s Changjo and 9Muses’ Hyemi will star in the new web drama Oppa is Missing.
  • Jessica teased the release of her second solo effort, “Wonderland.”
  • Twice will release a special holiday edition of TwiceCoaster Lane 1.
  • Ravi‘s R.EAL1ZE project kicks off on January 6.
  • Looks like we can expect something from BlockB on December 19.
  • Apink have begun to drop teaser for their special album Dear, due out on December 15.
  • The teaser for Big Bang‘s final MADE single “FXXK It” is out! The full MADE album — with three new tracks “FXXK It,” “Girlfriend,” and “Last Dance” — drops on December 12.
  • DSP confirmed the final line-up for new co-ed group KARD. Kara‘s Young-ji will feature as the hidden member on their upcoming debut single “Ohnana.”

Other News

  • Jay Park and Al Gore formed a surprising connection through their mutual investment in curbing climate change.
  • IU discussed and defended her most recent album Chat-shire. It went about as well as expected following the “Zeze” controversy last year.
  • All three major networks (KBS, MBC, SBS) will not present awards during their Gayo festivals. Probably for the best.

(Naver: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7], Nate: [1] [2]. Images via Plan A Entertainment, APOP,  SM Entertainment.)