With all that happened this weekend, our latest Week in Review was delayed a bit. But never fear, your news is here!


  • Police have begun investigating the SNL Korea sexual assault controversy, questioning members of B1A4. Meanwhile, Lee Se-young has taken in indefinite hiatus from the show.
  • The 2016 MAMAs took place on Friday; Twice won for Best Song, BTS for Best Artist, and Exo for Best Album. The ceremony saw ratings drop from last year by more than 50%.
  • But the biggest drama of the ceremony was about Taeyeon‘s failed collaboration with Wiz Khalifa.
  • On the presidential scandal, President Park Geun-hye called another press conference this week, where she issued a third apology and offered her resignation… Sort of. Park stated that she would accept the National Assembly’s decision regarding her presidency. Meanwhile, protests continued for another weekend.

Debuts & Comebacks

  • Sechskies are officially back with “Couple.”
  • Zico, Dean, and Crush survived the “Bermuda Triangle.”
  • B1A4 returned with “A Lie.”
  • This week’s Station release was Hyoyeon‘s “Mystery.”
  • Baek A-yeon released “Just Because” featuring Got7‘s JB.
  • Laboum released “Winter Story.”
  • Shinhwa revealed part one of their new album Unghanging, called Orange.
  • Oh My Girl teamed up with Haha again for winter single “White” featuring M.Tyson.
  • Sol-T came back with “Bad Girls.”
  • Soloist Cosmic Girl put out “Don’t You Worry ’bout Me” with an assist from San E.


Teasers & Announcements

  • Former MBLAQ member Thunder will be debuting solo. Former Kara member Hara is will be featured on the album.
  • High Ground will be releasing a special project titled Working Holiday, starting with Winner member Seungyoon‘s single on the 6th.
  • Jessica is coming back! Who else is excited for Wonderland? The aspiring designer also opened a store on New York.
  • New girl group Heymiss is preparing to debut.
  • Pentagon will be returning on the 7th with “Can You Feel It.”
  • Minx are preparing to re-debut as Dreamcatcher with some new members.
  • DSP looks set to debut a co-ed group, our first in a while. Has K.A.R.D peaked your interest?
  • Daesung will be embarking on another Japanese dome tour in April.
  • Exo will be  another Christmas album.
  • Girl’s Day and AOA will be coming back in January.
  • Lovelyz will be holding their debut concert in January, and are also preparing a debut in Japan.
  • There will be another season of Produce 101, this time creating a boy group.
  • Fantastic Duo will be remade in Spanish for South American audiences.
  • Rain will be attending the 2016 UK Fashion Awards.
  • Suzy will be making her solo debut in January, and will also be starring with Lee Jong-suk in upcoming SBS drama While You Were Sleeping.
  • Go A-ra and SM have parted ways.
  • Siwan‘s contract with Star Empire has expired, but the agency says the star is still with them.

Other News

  • Girl group Lush have gone viral on Facebook after their cover of Deborah Cox’s “Nobody’s Supposed to be Here” was posted to the social networking site.
  • Bom broke her silence on the news of the 2NE1 disbandment with a letter to fans. Dara and CL also posted letters.
  • Meanwhile, Dean won’t be joining YG, sticking with Universal.
  • Jonghyun has issued an apology for a concert VCR that saw him portray offensive South Asian stereotypes.
  • After School and Orange Caramel member Lizzie revealed on a variety programme that After School were paid below minimum wage while promoting “Bang!” in Japan.
  • The Super Seoul Dream Concert took place on the 27th.
  • A bunch of idols did the mannequin challenge.

(DispatchDreamcatcher, Facebook, Ilgan Sports[1][2][3], InsightKorea HeraldNews1, Sports Chosun, Osen, Twitter[1][2][3][4][5][6][7], X Sports NewsYG-Life, Yonhap[1][2][3], YouTube[1][2]. Images via: Coridel Entertainment, Cube Entertainment)