Welcome to another edition of SB Week in Review. Here’s all the news you might have missed over the past week:


  • Both Seungri and the military prosecution have filed appeals for his three-year prison sentence and fine of more than 1,000,000,000 won. Although originally meant to be transferred to the wartime labor division for his sentence, the transfer will be held off with the appeal from Seungri’s legal side in order to hold a second trial and consider both appeals.
  • In early August, it was reported that Park Yoochun had signed on with a Japanese company despite being under an exclusive contract with Re:Cielo, his Korean agency, with claims that the Korean company was barely paying him. In response, Re:Cielo put forth a statement that the claims were false, and the company was making losses by having to pay off Park’s debts and credit card bills. Re:Cielo will be issuing a civil damages lawsuit against Park.
  • After WayV‘s Lucas‘ ex-girlfriend accused him of being a gaslighter and gold-digger, the idol has put forth an apology and SM Entertainment has put him on a temporary hiatus. There have been other accusations on platforms like Weibo and Twitter, but they have not been acknowledged by either party.

Debuts & Comebacks

  • Verivery gave it their all with “Trigger“. Don’t forget to check out MV review here!
  • Brave Girls returned with an emotional, pop-dance track, “After ‘We Ride’“. Check out our MV review here!
  • Stray Kids showed off their powerful side in “Thunderstorm“. Here’s what we had to say about the MV!
  • CL was fiery and “Spicy” in her recent single.
  • Kwon Eunbi made a sparkling solo debut with “Door“. Click through for our MV review!
  • Mirae made a “Splash” with their latest MV.
  • Everglow hoped for a better world in their song for the UNICEF “Promise” Campaign.
  • Jay B (previously “JB” in Got7) released his first EP under H1gher Music with an MV for “B.T.W.
  • BTS dropped a new remix of “Butter” featuring Megan Thee Stallion.
  • Lee Hi travelled to the past with a beautiful ballad for “Only“.

Teasers & Announcements

  • Key‘s “Hate That…“, a pre-release single with Taeyeon, will be out on August 30.
  • BTOB 4U return with “Outsider” on August 30.
  • Fromis 9‘s Talk & Talk is scheduled for a September 1 release.
  • A.C.E drop their second repackage album, Changer: Dear Eris, on September 2.
  • Day6‘s Young K makes his solo debut with Eternal on September 6.
  • Omega X release “What’s Goin On” on September 6.
  • September 6 also sees StayC‘s comeback with Stereotype.
  • Sungmin (of Super Junior) releases “Goodnight, Summer” on September 7.
  • Purple Kiss return with Hide & Seek on September 8.
  • Black Pink‘s Lisa makes her solo debut with Lalisa on September 10.
  • AteezZero: Fever Part 3 drops on September 13.
  • Wonho‘s second mini-album, Blue Letter, will be out on September 14.
  • NCT 127 continue to teaser their September 17 release of Sticker.
  • Yoseob of Highlight will release his first full-length solo album on September 20.
  • Mamamoo return with a best-of album in September, though exact details remain unknown.
  • Twice‘s “The Feels” drops on October 1.

(YouTube: [1] [2], Twitter: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11], Instagram: [1]. Naver: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]. News1. Joy News 24. Images via: SM Entertainment, Cube Entertainment.)