Welcome to another edition of SB Week in Review. Here’s all the news you might have missed over the past week:


  • A court ruled that Blockberry Creative‘s exclusive contract with ex-Loona member Chuu is invalid. Chuu is now free of any relationship with the company, and Blockberry was ordered to pay the costs of the lawsuit.
  • Fifty Fifty filed a criminal complaint against Attrakt‘s CEO Jeon Hong-joon, accusing him of using revenue from their music to pay off debts for his company Star Crew Entertainment.

Debuts & Comebacks

  • Le Sserafim’s Huh Yunjin dropped her fourth solo song “Blessing in Disguise.”
  • DKB returned with love song ”All Yours”.
  • BZ Boys released their first mini-album, along with a performance video for “Outlaw.”
  • StayC stayed true to the title of their mini-album TeenFresh with their comeback, “Bubble.” Keep an eye out for our review of the MV!
  • LOVElution, tripleS‘s new subunit, emphasized investing in oneself in their debut single “Girls’ Capitalism.”
  • Lucy came back with the lush, soaring rock ballad “Haze.”
  • Twice‘s Jihyo made her solo debut with “Killin’ Me Good.” Look out for our reviews of her MV and the full Zone album!
  • Primrose released the sugary “Laffy Taffy,” their first song as a four-member group.
  • Everglow made their first comeback in two years with girl crush anthem “Slay.”
  • Aespa dropped a new English single, “Better Things.”
  • Sorn from CLC collaborated with her former member Seungyoun on the percussive “Rowdy.”
  • Le’v, a former Boys Planet contestant, debuted with Korean and Chinese versions of “A.I.BAE.”
  • Hyuk from Vixx released “The Night I’m Alone.”

Teasers & Announcements

  • Vanner will follow up their win on Peaktime with “Veni Vidi Vici”, out on August 21.
  • After a two-year hiatus, AKMU will come back with a single album Love Lee on August 21.
  • Hyo (Girls’ Generation’s Hyoyeon) will release a new single “Picture” on August 22.
  • MustB will come back with a single album Rush on August 22.
  • Plave dropped a highlight medley ahead of the August 24 release of their first mini-album, Asterum: The Shape of Things to Come.
  • Secret Number announced a return on August 25 with single album Starlight.
  • The Rose will release “You’re Beautiful” on August 25, ahead of their second full album, Dual.
  • NCT 2023 posted individual teaser videos for their upcoming full album, Golden Age, out on August 28.
  • Cignature continued to tease their fourth EP Us in the Summer (to be released on August 29).
  • H1-Key released teaser photos for Seoul Dreaming, out on August 30.
  • Ailee will release a new single on September 1.
  • New SM boy group Riize will debut with the single album Get a Guitar on September 4. 
  • Purple Kiss will come back with the single album Festa on September 5.
  • Cravity will return with their mini-album Sun Seeker on September 11.
  • Mimiirose will make a comeback on September 14.

Other News

  • JYP Entertainment is taking legal action against malicious posts about Itzy.
  • SM Entertainment announced that NCT‘s Taeil fractured his right thigh in a motorcycle accident and will suspend his activities, including the upcoming NCT Nation concert, to recover.
  • Seventeen‘s leader S.Coups tore his left ACL and, according to Pledis‘s statement, he will not participate in most of the group’s activities “for the foreseeable future.”
  • Mnet announced the winners of Queendom Puzzle, who will debut as project group EL7Z Up in September.
  • 88 Rising and Cube Entertainment announced that the release of G I-dle‘s English EP Heat would be delayed until October 6.
  • BDC parted ways with their company Brand New Music, with both parties mutually agreeing to terminate the contract.
  • AOA Jimin has left Alo Malo Human Entertainment after the end of her exclusive contract.

(YouTube, Daum [1] [2], Naver [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]. Weverse. Images via Yuehua Entertainment, KLAP Entertainment, JYP Entertainment.)