It’s Gayo season around these parts, the time of the year when the big three broadcast companies put on their end of the year shows, highlighting popular acts throughout the year and sometimes putting on special performances. These are long sets, usually taking around three or four hours for the full program. Below are the three programs with times, attendees, and news about special stages.

KBS Gayo Daechukje: December 27th at 8:30 pm KST

MCs: miss A‘s Suzy, Yoon Si-yoon, and Lee Hwi-jae


List of attendees: Girls’ Generation, Shinee, Exo, Lee Hyori, IU, Infinite, Beast, 2pm, miss A, 4minute, Kara, Sistar, K. Will, Teen Top, B1A4, Girl’s Day, A Pink, Ailee, Lee Seung-chul, Yoo Hee-yeol, Secret, Dynamic Duo, Huh Gak, and Crayon Pop

The program typically has one singer or group receive a top award based on viewer votes. The last two winners have been Beast for “Fiction” and Psy for “Gangnam Style.”

Special stages:

  • Teen Top’s Chun-ji, L.joe, and Ricky with 4minute’s Ji-hyun performing an Uptown song, “Olla Olla
  • Teen Top’s C.A.P and Changjo with Girl’s Day’s So-jin, Hye-ri, and Yu-ra
  • Teen Top’s Niel and Secret’s Ji-eun versus Beast’s Yo-seob and A Pink’s Eun-ji for an “idol rival stage”
  • Lee Hyori and Dynamic Duo for a hip-hop stage of one of Lee Hyori’s songs
  • miss A’s Min and B1A4’s CNU; Girl’s Day’s Min-ah and B1A4’s Sandeul and Baro collaborations
  • Exo’s Kai, Lay, and Se-hun in a dance break
  • Secret and B1A4 in a collaboration stage
  • 4minute’s So-hyun and Beast’s Dong-woon in the “Remember the ’90s” stage

SBS Gayo Daejun: December 29th at 8:45 pm KST

MCs: 2NE1‘s Sandara Park, Super Junior‘s Heechul, and Sung Si-kyung

List of attendees: Lee Seung-chul, Baechigi, Dynamic Duo, Lee Hyori, JYP, Brown Eyed Girls, CNBlue, ZE:A, Girls’ Generation, Shinee, f(x), Exo, G-Dragon, Taeyang, 2NE1, 2pm, miss A, Kara, K. Will, Rainbow, Beast, Secret, 4minute, Girl’s Day, Nine Muses, A Pink, Lim Chang-jung, Tiger JK, Yoon Mi-rae, Yoon Jong-shin, Verbal Jint, Infinite, T-ara, Park Ji-yoon, IU, After School, Sistar, Bumkey, Park Ji-min, Ladies’ Code, BTS, Baek Ah-yeon, Lee Hi, Lim Kim, VIXX, Hello Venus, B.A.P, B1A4, Ailee, Block B, Huh Gak, San E, and Teen Top

20131227_seoulbeats_sbsThe program is operating on the ‘Music Makes Miracles’ theme. Before broadcast, 125 idols and singers got together to sing the song “You Are a Miracle” for a music video. The song will be performed live and all proceeds from the song and music video will be donated to charities via SBS.

Special Stages:

  • Lee Seung-chul stage with Shinee’s Onew, Beast’s Hyun-seung, Infinite’s Woo-hyun, B1A4’s Sandeul remixing “My Love”
  • Another Lee Seung-chul stage with the Nine Muses
  • Lee Hyori and 2NE1’s CL: “Bad Girl” and “The Baddest Female,” remixed by Teddy
  • Lee Hyori to perform with fans during her “Miss Korea” stage
  • “Sleigh Ride” opening performance: Shinee’s Tae-min and Min-ho, 2pm’s Jun-ho and Nichkhun, Beast’s Yo-seob and Doo-joon, Infinite’s L and Woo-hyun, B1A4’s Sandeul and Jin-young, Exo’s D.O and Baek-hyun, K. Will, Kara’s Gyuri, 4minute’s Hyuna and Ga-yoon, f(x)’s Luna and Victoria, Secret’s Sun-hwa and Hyo-sung, miss A’s Suzy and Jia, Rainbow’s Jae-kyung, Girl’s Day’s Min-ah, and A Pink’s Eun-ji
  • The Heirs and Master’s Sun parody with main characters Shinee’s Tae-min with Girl’s Day’s Min-ah and 2pm’s Woo-young with A Pink’s Na-eun and other idol groups participating as well
  • The “You Are a Miracle” stage
  • Verbal Jint, Bumkey, and San E collaborative performance
  • JYP, Infinite’s Hoya, Teen Top’s Niel, Secret’s Hyo-sung, A Pink’s Eun-ji: collaborative stage
  • Tiger JK, Yoon Mi-rae, Bizzy, Eun Ji-won, Block B’s Zico, B.A.P’s Yong-guk, BTS’ Rap Monster, and B1A4’s Baro: Hip-Hop Performance
  • Girl’s Day and A Pink: Girl Group Stage

MBC Gayo Daejejun: December 31st at 8:50 pm KST

MCs: Jung Jun-ha, Noh Hong-chul, Clara, ZE:A’s Hyung-shik, and Kim Seong-joo

20131227_seoulbeats_mbc2List of Attendees: Dal Shabet, Ladies’ Code, Rainbow, Park Hyun-bin, BTS, Block B, Sul Woon-do, Girls’ Generation, Son Jin-young, Park Soo-jin, Han Dong-geun, IU, After School, Ailee, Lee Juk, Lee Hyori, Insooni, Infinite, Lim Chang-jung, K. Will, Crayon Pop, Tiger JK, Yoon Mi-rae, Bizzy, Tae Jin-ah, 4minute, Hong Jin-young, 2pm, A Pink, B.A.P, B1A4, Beast, BtoB, CNBlue, Exo, f(x), Girl’s Day, Kara, miss A, Secret, Shinee, Sistar, T-ara, Teen Top, VIXX, and ZE:A.

Typically, participants are separated into Blue and White teams. Groups go head-to-head with their performances and fans can vote via SMS. At the end of the program, one of the teams is deemed the winner by votes.

Special Stages:

  • Lee Hyori performing a hip-hop version of one of her songs with Tiger JK and Yoon Mi-rae
  • B1A4 and A Pink stage
  • Teen Top’s Niel and Ailee: dance performance stage
  • Trot Medley with old and new singers: Tae Jin-ah, Sul Woon-do, Park Hyun-bin, and Hong Jin-young

The stages listed are the ones that have been announced, but there could always be changes or additions by the time the actual show airs. The list of attendees look promising, but is there a special program you’re looking forward to checking out?

(Mwave [1][2], MBC, SBS, KBS, Lee Hyori’s official website, Naver [1][2][3], Newsen, My Daily)